Prizes and Awards

Richard Epstein Award

for PhD level Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows

Deadlines for applications: January 31 and July 31 of each calendar year. 

Documents to submit:

1. Information about the meeting,

2. Half a page motivation letter for attending the meeting,

3. The abstract and/or manuscript that will be presented at the meeting

The documents should be emailed to: direction-mocel(at)


Richard Epstein was a Professor of Genetics and Director of the Department of Molecular Biology of the University of Geneva. He made seminal contributions in the field of bacterial genetics, playing an  instrumental role in the discovery and analysis of the amber mutants of bacteriophage T4 and succeeded in identifying most of the essential genes of T4 using conditional-lethal mutations. He was an inspiring teacher and many students chose to study molecular genetics in the Department after following his stimulating and thought-provoking lectures.


Upon his retirement, Prof. Epstein donated funds to assist graduate students and postdoctoral fellows attend international scientific meetings. Accordingly, to honor his memory, the Department has established the Epstein Award. Three such awards are presented each year on a competitive basis.

To apply for the Epstein Award, interested PhD level graduate students or postdoctoral fellows of the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology need to submit information on a meeting they wish to attend in the future, a half-page justification of why they want to attend the specific meeting and the abstract and/or manuscript that they intend to present at this meeting.

Recipients of Epstein Award

Alina Batiuk
Umut Batman, Lorène Bournonville, Michaela Dohnalkova, Arielle Flinois, Xiaoming Zou
Mateusz Mendel, Alessandro Stirpe, Joanna Wenda
Karoline Leopold, Laura Padayachy, Maude Strobino
Kamila Delaney, Beata Kusmider
Christiane Brugger, Slawomir Kubik
Sandrine Coquille, Ka Yi Hui, Maksym Shyian
Jessica Bruzzone, Christl Gaubitz, Natalia Lugli
Maciej Kocylowski, Morgane Macheret, Seda Yerlikaya
Fabiana Arieti, Silvia Ramundo, Sotirios Sotiriou
Soheila Emamzadah, Britta Knight, Manuele Piccolis